

#### **PRESS RELEASE**

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## The EdCan Network Announces its 2019-2020 Board of Directors and Advisory Council

This pan-Canadian network of leaders from the K-12, post-secondary, not-for-profit and corporate sectors share a commitment to supporting the thousands of courageous educators working tirelessly to ensure that all students discover their place, purpose and path.

**TORONTO** —**October 1, 2019** — As the leading independent national voice in Canadian K-12 education, the EdCan Network is pleased to announce that the following leaders were elected to serve on the EdCan Network's 2019–2020 Board of Directors:

## 2019–2020 EdCan Network Board of Directors

**Denise Andre**, Chair

Director of Education, Ottawa Catholic District School Board, Ottawa, ON

Yves Saint-Maurice, Vice-Chair

Lecturer, Université Laval, Quebec City, QC

**Anne MacPhee,** Treasurer

Consultant, Toronto, ON

Darren Googoo, Past Chair

Director of Education, Membertou First Nation, Membertou, NS

## **Rob Adley**

Vice President, Solutions & Technology, Hewlett Packard Enterprise (Canada), Mississauga, ON

#### Dr. Michele Jacobsen

Professor, Learning Sciences, Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB

## Eric M. Roher

Partner, Education, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG), Toronto, ON

#### Dean Shareski

Community Manager, Discovery Education Canada, Moose Jaw, SK

The EdCan Network Advisory Council provides a forum for expression of countrywide issues and trends in education and advises the Board on the direction and priorities for the Network. Council members provide visibility and act as advocates for the EdCan Network within their respective professional communities. They are drawn from all regions of the country and serve a three-year term, which may be renewable for a second three-year term.

The following individuals will serve on the EdCan Network's 2019–2020 Advisory Council:



# 2019–2020 EdCan Network Advisory Council

# **Rob Adley\***

Vice President, Solutions & Technology, Hewlett Packard Enterprise (Canada), Mississauga, ON

## **David Allnutt**

Consultant, Montreal, QC

# Denise Andre\*, Chair

Director of Education, Ottawa Catholic District School Board, Ottawa, ON

## **Lyne-Chantal Boudreau**

Professeure en administration de l'éducation et chercheure, Université de Moncton (campus de Shippagan) Shippigan, NB

## **Curtis Brown**

Superintendent, South Slave Divisional Education Council, Fort Smith, NWT

#### **Rob Buttars**

Director General, New Frontiers School Board, Châteauguay, QC

#### **Dr. Steve Cardwell**

Associate Vice President — Academic, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Delta, BC

## Janice Ciavaglia

Director of Education, Assembly of First Nations, Ottawa, ON

## **Steven Colpitts**

Assistant Deputy Ministry (Anglophone, Indigenous and cultural diversity sectors), ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur du Québec, Montréal, QC

## **Eugénie Congi**

Superintendent of Education, Conseil Des Écoles Catholiques du Centre-Est (CECCE), Ottawa, ON

## Amy Coupal

Chief Executive Officer, The Ontario Caregiver Organization, Toronto, ON

#### **Sharon Friesen**

Professor, Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB

#### **Shannon Fuller**

Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy and Planning Division, Ontario Ministry of Education

## **Darren Googoo\***, Past Chair

Director of Education, Membertou First Nation, Membertou, NS

## **Charlie Guy**

Chief People Officer, CHRE, Toronto, ON

# **Claire Guy**

Executive Director, BC School Superintendents Association, Vancouver, BC

## **Cassandra Hallett**

Secretary General, Canadian Teachers' Federation, Ottawa, ON



## Dr. Michele Jacobsen\*

Professor, Learning Sciences, Werklund School of Education, University of Calgary, Calgary, AB

## Sana Javed

Manager, Canadian Western Bank, Edmonton, AB

#### **Kevin Kaardal**

Superintendent of Schools/CEO, Central Okanagan Public Schools, Kelowna, BC

#### Dr. Heather Kanuka

Full Professor, Faculty of Education, University of Alberta, Edmonton, AB

#### Nikhil Kumar

Director, Great-West Lifeco, Winnipeg, MB

## **Normand Lessard**

Directeur général, Commission scolaire Beauce-Etchemin (CSBE), Saint-Georges, QC

## **Anne MacPhee\***, Treasurer

Consultant, Toronto, ON

## John McLaughlin

Deputy Minister, New Brunswick Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Fredericton, NB

#### **Christian Michalek**

Superintendent, Louis Riel School Division, Winnipeg, MB

# **Donna Miller Fry**

Superintendent/CEO, Pine Creek School Division, Gladstone, MB

# **Stuart Miller**

Director of Education, Halton District School Board, Burlington, ON

## **Cathy Montreuil**

Deputy Minister, Nova Scotia Department of Education and Early Childhood Development, Halifax, NS

#### **Valérie Morand**

Executive Director, Fédération Nationale des Conseils Scolaires Francophones (FNCSF), Ottawa, ON

## **Arlene Morell**

Vice President, Canadian Home and School Federation, Strathroy, ON

#### Nicole Morgan

Deputy Minister, Yukon Department of Education, Whitehorse, YK

## Darrin G. Pike

Administrative Officer, Programs and Services, Newfoundland and Labrador Teachers' Association, St. John's, NL

## **Nancy Pynch-Worthylake**

Executive Director, Canadian School Boards Association, Wolfville, NS

## **Gérald Richard**



Sous-ministre, ministère de l'Éducation et Développement de la petite enfance, Fredericton, NB

Eric M. Roher\*

Partner, Education, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP (BLG), Toronto, ON

**Bernard Roy** 

Consultant, Ottawa, ON

Yves Saint-Maurice\*, Vice-Chair

Lecturer, Université Laval, Quebec City, QC

**Rob Santos** 

Senior Assistant Deputy Minister, Manitoba Education and Training, Winnipeg, MB

Dean Shareski\*

Community Manager, Discovery Education Canada, Moose Jaw, SK

**Doug Sheppard** 

Superintendent/CEO, Delta School District, Delta, BC

**Anthony Stack** 

CEO/Director of Education, Newfoundland and Labrador English School District, St. John's, NL

## **Mary Lynne Stewart**

National Director of Fund Development and Communications, March of Dimes Canada, Toronto, ON

# **Bryan Tisdall**

Executive Director, Terry Fox Centre, Richmond, BC

For more information about these Advisory Council Members, please visit: www.edcan.ca/council

## **About the EdCan Network**

The EdCan Network has over 125 years of experience as the leading independent national voice in Canadian K-12 education. We support over 75,000 courageous educators working tirelessly to ensure that *all* students discover their place, purpose and path. <a href="http://www.edcan.ca">http://www.edcan.ca</a>

**Contact:** Max Cooke, EdCan CEO (bilingual)

Tel: 416-591-6300 ext. 225 E-mail: mcooke@edcan.ca

<sup>\*</sup>EdCan Network Director