

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

April 18, 2024

Aurora College's first Academic Council appointed

FORT SMITH, NT – The second of three new bodies that make up Aurora College's new tri-cameral governance structure – the Academic Council – was appointed earlier this academic year. Amendments to the Aurora College Act, which came into effect May 20, 2022, established the new governance system.

The Academic Council is the senior academic body of Aurora College, and will focus primarily on academic quality and standards for the institution. It is an internal body with 30 members – 27 voting and three non-voting – comprised of staff, faculty and student representatives. Of the 27 elected members, there are 14 elected faculty, three elected staff, three elected students, three ex-officio members and four members appointed by the College President. Non-voting members are appointed by the President and the three ex-officio members are the Vice-President Education & Training (Chair), Vice-President Community & Extensions (Vice Chair) and the Registrar.

Meetings will be held monthly between September and June.

The Academic Council will advise the Board of Governors, make recommendations on all academic matters and build Aurora College's capacity to make academic decisions. This will enable the College to move towards arm's length governance, help to ensure academic freedom and meet quality assurance requirements connected to academic decision-making. The Academic Council is an interim step in the move towards establishing a Senate at the new polytechnic university.

The initial length of appointments have been staggered so that going forward, approximately one-third of the Academic Council is renewed each year, which will ensure continuity and stability. A list of members is attached.

Attachments: list of members attached

--- 30 ---

Aurora College delivers academic upgrading, trades and industrial training, certificate, diploma and degree programs to students at three campuses, 19 Community Learning Centres and other community sites in the

Northwest Territories. Community-centred post-secondary programs reflect Northern culture and the needs of the Northern labour market. Aurora College's research division, Aurora Research Institute, conducts and supports research in the NWT. Research centres are located in Inuvik, Yellowknife and Fort Smith.

For more information, please contact:

Jayne Murray Manager, Communications & College Relations Aurora College

Phone: 867-872-7021

Email: <u>imurray@auroracollege.nt.ca</u>

Aurora College Academic Council – Membership

Ex-officio members:

Jeff O'Keefe, Vice President, Education and Training – Chair Ken Latour, Interim Vice President, Community and Extensions – Vice Chair Jessi Johnson, Registrar

Faculty Representatives:

Dave Porter, School of Developmental Studies (June 2027)

Axelle Kearnan, School of Health and Human Services (June 2027)

Jabin Carrasco, School of Education (June 2027)

Sarah Rosolen, Aurora Research Institute (June 2027)

Greta Sittichinli, Aurora Campus (June 2027)

Tammy Soanes-White, School of Business and Leadership (June 2026)

Alexandra Hook, Thebacha Campus (June 2026)

Adam Smith, Community Learning Centres (June 2026)

Bernie Minute, School of Trades, Apprenticeship and Industrial Training (June 2026)

Linh Nguyen, School of Arts and Science (June 2025)

Brittany Rhodes, School of Developmental Studies (June 2025)

Shannon Mychael, School of Health and Human Services (June 2025)

Elizabeth Kiy, Yellowknife North Slave Campus (June 2025)

Melanie Adams, Member at Large (June 2025)

Staff Representatives:

Ryanna Bourke, Thebacha Campus/ South Slave Research Centre/ South Slave and Dehcho regions (June 2026)

Layla Charlo, Yellowknife North Slave Campus/ North Slave Research Centre/ North Slave region (June 2026)

Celina Jerome, Aurora Campus/ Western Arctic Research Centre/ Beaufort Delta and Sahtu regions (June 2025)

President's Appointments: Voting

Duane MacDonald, School of Trades, Apprenticeship and Industrial Training (June 2027)

Joel McAlister, Aurora Research Institute (June 2027)

Kerry Lynn Durnford, Strategic Enrolment Management (June 2026)

Renee Closs, School of Education (June 2026)

President's Appointments: Non-voting

Celestine Starling, CFO/Director of Finance (June 2027)
Nora Houlahan, Assistant Vice President, Education and Training (June 2027)
Vacant, Secretary

Student Representatives:

Lyndie Bourque, Thebacha Campus (June 2024) Ashley Williams, Yellowknife North Slave Campus (June 2024) Salieu Jalloh, Aurora Campus (June 2024)